Sidebar        Moritz Federalist Society named National Student Chapter of the Year

The Moritz College of Law Federalist Society Student Chapter was awarded the 2016-2017 James Madison Award for Student Chapter of the Year at The Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies’ national student symposium in March.

There are more than 200 student chapters across the country. Finalists for the award this year included the law school student chapters at the University of Chicago, Harvard University, University of Pennsylvania, University of Texas, University of Virginia, and Yale University.

“The Federalist Society’s student chapters exist to enrich the debate and discussion on law school campuses on the most critical issues of law and policy,” said Austin Lipari, deputy director of the National Student Division of the Federalist  Society, who was involved in the selection process. “Under Jedidiah Bressman’s determined leadership, the Ohio State chapter has proven to be the very model of what civic discourse over contested ideas and issues should look like.”

In addition to 3L Bressman as chapter president, the Moritz Federalist Society is led by 2L Jay Payne as vice-president; 3L Tara Workman as secretary; 2L Andy Hopkins as treasurer; and 3L Tom Lampman and 2L Amanda Morris as co-marketing chairs. Professor Chris Walker is the chapter’s faculty adviser.

“This award would never have happened without the help from the law school chapter of the American Constitution Society, led by 3L Melissa Wasser, The Ohio State University Democracy Studies Program, and the Moritz Admissions Office, which all cosponsored a number of our events this year,” Bressman said in response to the award. “Dean Alan C. Michaels and the rest of the law school administration have also provided critical support and have helped create an atmosphere at the law school that encourages an open exchange of ideas and diversity in viewpoints.”