Student Honors & Awards

Nancy H. Rogers Prize in Dispute Resolution Scholarship

This prize was created in 1999 by an anonymous donor, with the stipulation that it be named in honor of Nancy H. Rogers, who, at that time, was the Joseph S. Platt-Porter Wright Morris & Arthur Professor of Law and Director of the Program on Dispute Resolution.

Each year, the award recognizes two students who, in the judgment of a committee of faculty members who teach dispute resolution, wrote research papers on a dispute resolution topic that, in the donor’s language, “reflect the analytical rigor and intellectual breadth associated with highly-regarded scholarly contributions.”


  • First Prize: Eleftheria Matsa (’20), Preventing, Diagnosing, and Treating Healthcare Disputes: Proposing Novel Frameworks for Patient-Centered Medical Mediation to Forestall Conflict, Improve the Delivery of Medical Care, and Avoid Litigation.
  • Second Prize: Zeina Abu-Hijleh (’20), Could Mediation be Beneficial for Women in Divorce Under Islamic Law?


  • First Prize: Stacey Dettwiller (’20), Sticks and Stones: Using School-Based Peer Mediation to Reduce Bullying in Public Schools
  • Second Prize: Tyler Aust (’19), Mediating Appraisal Arbitrage:  A Practical Application of Transformative Techniques
  • Honorable Mention: Mark Widerschein (’20), Whisky is for Drinking, Water is for Fighting Over: Lessons from Peacemaking Mediation for the Lasting Resolution of Water Rights Disputes in the American West


  • First Prize: Holly Brianna Cline (’17), Having its Cake and Eating it, too: How the Supreme Court’s Arbitration Precedent has Poised Arbitrators to be the Unlikely Heroes of Class Arbitration Plaintiffs
  • Second Prize: Krista Warren (’18), The Future of the Sharing Economy and Arbitration
  • Honorable Mention: Juan Camilo Osma Potes (LL.M, ’18), Colombia and the Political Conundrums Involved in Conciliation at Law: Deliver us from Litigation


  • First Prize: Brooks Boron (’17), Let the Healing Begin: Building Consensus in the City of Strongsville Through the Strong Model
  • Second Prize: Alex Karcher (’18), An Argument for the Integration of Dogs in Mediation: The Impact of Dogs on the Building and Maintenance of Trust and Cooperation


Rogers Prize

  • First Prize: Robby Southers (’17), European Union Involvement in the Middle East Conflict
  • Second Prize: Giuseppe Pappalardo (’17), Courts as the Mediator’s Temptress: A call for change in approval procedure of mediated class action settlements
  • Honorable Mention: Kate Selander (’16), Museum Restitution Ethics Regarding Holocaust-Era Art and Cultural Property: A Proposal for Mediation as a Mandatory Medium


  • First Prize: Collin Flake (’15), Third Party Funding in Domestic Arbitration: Champerty or Social Utility?
  • Second Prize: Avery Schumacher (’16), Hospital Ombuds: Theory, Implications, and a Suggestion for Universal Implementation


  • First Prize: Adam Philipp (’14), Turkey: A Viable Broker of Peace in the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict?
  • Second Prize: Sarah Pomeroy (’15), The Arusha Accords: Parties at the Mediation Table Make All the Difference
  • Special Recognition: Brittany Doggett (’13),
  • Rogers Prize 2014Katie Mayer (’13) & Whitney Siehl (’13), Starting A Human Trafficking/Solicitation Docket


  • First Prize: Elizabeth Wiseman (’13), Time to Settle Up: A Proposal for Redesigning Consumer Debt Mediation Systems in the Courts
  • Second Prize: Elisabeth McClear (’14), Empathy: Why Mediation Should Use the Lodestar of Human Behavior to Inform Design and Finely Tailor the Forum to the Fuss


  • First Prize: David Moritz (’12) and Nikki Baszynski (’13), SPEAK: A Dispute System Design for Solving Identity-Based Conflict at the Moritz College of Law
  • Second Prize: Nikki Baszynski (’13) School Based Racial Discrimination: A New Path
  • Honorable Mention: Amanda Zerhusen (’12) Who Has Responsibility to Protect the Palestinians?


  • First Prize: Alexandra Wolfe (’11), The Power of the Written Word: The Need for Reasoned Written Arbitration Opinions
  • Second Prize: William Froehlich (’11), Deviating from Cy Pres with Mediation
  • Honorable Mention: Katie Linehan (’12), The Gacaca Courts: A Mediator’s Perspective


  • First Prize: Ryan Smith (’11), Good Faith A La Carte: A Cafeteria-Style Approach to Defining Participation Standards in Contractual Compulsory Mediation Clauses
  • Second Prize: Joseph Lipps (’11), The Path Toward A Federal Mediation Privilege: Approaches Toward: Creating Consistency For A Mediation Privilege In Federal Courts


  • First Prize: Susan Landrum (’09), Ohio Courts and Unconscionability in Arbitration Agreements
  • Honorable Mention: Erin Butcher-Lyden (’10), Uncertain Terrain: Are Materials Prepared for Mediation Protected from Disclosure in Litigation and Richard (Rick) Miller (’10): A Mediation Lost: Was Haig Hexed?


  • First Prize: Lauren LaRochelle (’08), Access to Justice: An Analysis of the Debate over Sharia Arbitration in Ontario
  • Second Prize: Michelle Mann (’09), The Impact of State Law on the Advantageousness of Mediation for Same Sex Couples in Custody Disputes



  • First Prize: Leslie Siegel (’06), Game Time Decisions: An Analysis of Arbitration at the Olympics
  • Second Prize: Sarah C. McCarty (’06), The Role of Mediation in Economic Development Disputes


James B. Boskey Essay Contest: Law Division, Student Scholarship

Awarded by Dispute Resolution Section of American Bar Association


Center for Public Resources Award for Excellence in ADR: Student Articles

  • 2019 Prize: Abby Chin (’18): Streamlining Doping Disputes at the Olympics: World Sports Organizations, Positive Drug Tests, & Consistent Repercussions
  • 2011 Prize: Michael Diamond (’11): ‘Energized’ Negotiations: Mediating Disputes Over the Siting of Interstate Electronic Transmission Lines
  • 2011 Prize: Nate Mealy (’11): Mediation’s Potential Role in International Cultural Property Disputes
  • 2009 First Prize: Kevin Mahoney (’10): Learning from the Mistakes of Others
  • 2005 First Prize: Joshua Berry (’06): The Trouble We Have With the Iraqis is US: A Proposal for Alternative Dispute Resolution in the New Iraq
  • 2005 Second Prize: Daniel Hendy (’06): Is a Truth Commission the Solution to Restoring Peace in Post-Conflict Iraq?



  • 2017 First Prize, American Agricultural Law Association’s (AALA) 2017 Student Poster Competition: Evin Bachelor (’18), “Ohio: The Midwestern Ag Mediation Holdout”
  • 2014 Third Prize, Center for the Study of Dispute Resolution Symposium Student Writing Competition: Christopher Paul Gordon (’14), “Problem-Solving or Problematic?  The Role of the Managerial Judge in Settlement.”
  • 2010 First Prize, OSBA Environmental Law Award: Michael Diamond (’11): “The New NIMBY – Using Mediation to Site Ohio’s Wind Farms”
  • 2009 First Prize, National Sports Law Student Writing Competition: Adam Primm (’11): “Salary Arbitration Induced Settlement in Major League Baseball: The New Trend”


Archived Awards