The Public Interest Law Foundation (PILF) is a non-political, non-profit organization dedicated to promoting legal involvement in the public sector. To this end, PILF collaborates with the Career Services Office to raise awareness of the many opportunities available to students who wish to use their legal education to serve the public interest.

PILF has helped Moritz students work across the country, and in some instances, around the globe providing a variety of services to survivors of domestic violence, children of prisoners, victims of predatory lending, migrant farm workers, Native Americans, people with developmental disabilities, and others.

PILF fellows have worked at a number of organizations, including Columbus Legal Aid, the Equal Justice Foundation, the American Civil Liberties Union, the Federal Reserve Bank, the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, and the United Nations.

In addition to raising awareness, PILF helps reduce inevitable financial barriers by offering fellowships to law students who accept low-paying or non-paying public interest positions during the summer. PILF summer fellowships are funded, in large part, by the proceeds of the annual PILF Auction, attended by hundreds of people who help raise thousands of dollars. PILF welcomes students from all backgrounds, political beliefs, and legal agendas who strive to utilize legal education to benefit under-served populations.

Support PILF



President – Sam Harton – harton.13@osu.edu

VP of Auction Operations – Jesse Vogel – vogel.296@osu.edu

VP of Auction Fundraising – Julia Sivertson – sivertson.1@osu.edu

VP of General Fundraising – Jacob Dattilo – dattilo.20@osu.edu

VP of Education & Fellowships – Gwen Short – short.362@osu.edu

VP of Communications – Emily Johnston – johnston.883@osu.edu

VP of Alumni Relations – Jess Akerman – akerman.8@osu.edu

Treasurer – Hart Main – main. 600@osu.edu

Secretary – Laila Rose Hudson – hudson.533@osu.edu

Compliance Officer – Dean Paul Rose – rose.933@osu.edu

1L Representatives – Michael Fahy, Miles Sibley, Sarah Warner, Ghofran Miari, Flannery Mack, Alexa Civittolo, Mellicent Costarella, Renier Halter-Raney, Nat Rodriguez-Steen