Mary Beth Beazley

Professor Emeritus of Law
Contact Information:

(614) 292-5919


Curriculum Vitae Bibliography

  • B.A., Bowling Green State University
  • J.D., University of Notre Dame

High Resolution Photo

Areas of Expertise:
  • Legal Writing and Research

Professor Mary Beth Beazley came to Ohio State in 1988 after serving as co-director of the Legal Research, Writing, and Reasoning Program at Vermont Law School and as a research and writing instructor at the University of Toledo. She taught Writing and Analysis, Appellate Advocacy, and Advanced Legal Writing, and she had coached the National Moot Court Team for many years.

Professor Beazley has authored a widely used textbook (A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy) and numerous articles, including “Ballot Design as Fail-Safe: An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Litigation.” She also has authored a chapter in the Carolina Academic Press publication The Law and Harry Potter.

She served as the president of the Legal Writing Institute from 1998-2000 and of the Association of Legal Writing Directors from 2009-10. She has also served as editor-in-chief and as a member of the editorial board of Legal Writing: The Journal of the Legal Writing Institute.  From 2005-09, she served as chair of the American Bar Association’s Communications Skills Committee; she is currently a member of the American Association of Law Schools Curriculum Committee.

In January 2006, Professor Beazley was awarded the Thomas F. Blackwell award by the Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors. The Blackwell award recognizes a person who has made a contribution to the field of legal writing by demonstrating “an ability to create and integrate new ideas for teaching and motivating legal writing educators and students.” In a ceremony at the Library of Congress in June 2008, she received the Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education.  She was selected to receive the Morgan E. Shipman Outstanding Professor Award by Moritz’s graduating class of 2009.