The Divided Community Project is housed at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law. The steering committee for the Project includes: Nancy Rogers, Professor Emeritus, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, and former Ohio Attorney General; Josh Stulberg, Moritz Chair in Alternative Dispute Resolution, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, and mediator in community conflicts; Susan Carpenter, public policy and community mediator, trainer and co-author of Mediating Public Disputes; Andrew Thomas, mediator in community conflicts and Community Relations and Neighborhood Engagement Director, City of Sanford, Florida; Chris Carlson, public policy mediator and Chief Advisor, Policy Consensus Initiative; Sarah Rubin, Program Manager, Public Engagement, Institute for Local Government (serving California); and Craig McEwen, Professor Emeritus, Bowdoin College, and social scientist evaluating mediation and dispute resolution. Grande Lum, Director, Community Relations Service in the U.S. Department of Justice, generously shared his counsel as the project was shaped and joined the meeting on April 9, 2015 at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law. William Froehlich, Langdon Fellow in the Program on Dispute Resolution at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, later joined the project and has helped to shape this report.

We are grateful as well to the others who, in addition to steering group members, attended the April 9, 2015 meeting, many of whom also contributed to editing this document.

  • Community Relations Service conciliators: Derryck Dean and Thomas Battles;
  • Sanford, Florida leaders: City Manager Norton Bonaparte, Jr., former Sanford Police Chief Richard Myers (now Chief of Police, Newport News, Virginia); Valarie Houston, Chair of the Sanford inter-faith coalition; and city mediator Andrew Thomas, mentioned above;
  • Public officials from other state or local communities: Kimberly Jacobs, Chief of Police, Columbus, Ohio; Derrick Diggs, former Chief of Police, Toledo, Ohio; Jennifer Thornton, Outreach Coordinator for the U.S. Attorney’s Office (S.D. Ohio); and Lou Gieszl, Assistant Administrator for Programs, Administrative Office of the Courts, Maryland;
  • Advocacy group leaders: Mickie Luna, Immediate Past National Vice President, League of United Latin American Citizens, and Hilary O. Shelton, Senior Vice President for Advocacy, NAACP;
  • Representative of an institute devoted to educating local officials: Terry Amsler (emeritus), California’s Institute for Local Government;
  • Experienced divided community mediators from outside CRS: Michael Lewis, JAMS, and Gwendolyn P. Whiting, Everyday Democracy;
  • Bar leaders: Reuben Shelton, President, Missouri Bar Association, and Carl Smallwood, Immediate Past President, National Association of Bar Presidents;
  • Researchers in the field: Maxine Thomas, Vice President and General Counsel, Kettering Foundation, and April Young, New Equity Partners.

We are indebted to the Kettering Foundation for its collaboration on the project and The Ohio State University Democracy Studies Program for their resources, and to The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law and particularly its Dispute Resolution Program for hosting the meeting and the Project, Dean Alan Michaels for his enthusiastic support, the Moritz Law Library for superb technical assistance to the Project, the Moritz Communications Department for their design and technical assitance, and the National League of Cities’ REAL (Race, Equity And Leadership) Initiative and staff.

We thank many others who made helpful suggestions to earlier drafts, including Rachel Allen, Peace and Justice Institute Coordinator, Valencia College; Napoleon A. Bell II, Executive Director, Community Relations Commission, Columbus, Ohio; Mike Kasperzak, Council member, Mountain View, California; Julie Nelson, Director, Government Alliance on Race and Equity; Scott Paine, Florida League of Cities University Director of Leadership and Education, Florida League of Cities; Gloria Reyes, Deputy Mayor to Public Safety, Civil Rights and Community Services, Madison, Wisconsin; C.J. Robbins, Program Coordinator, Black Male Achievement, Portland, Oregon; Cindy Schmidt, Director, Center for Law and Policy, Department of Legal Studies, University of Central Florida; Karl Skala, Council Member, Columbia, Missouri; Carter Stewart, U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Ohio; Jonas Subaar, Data Analyst, Savannah, Georgia; Harold Thompson, Mayor, Union, South Carolina; Jeff Weisensel, Council member, Rosemount, Minnesota; Mike Wojcik, Councilman, Rochester, Minnesota; Victoria Woodards, Council Member, Tacoma, Washington; and Lana Zaghmout, Policy Analyst, Detroit, Michigan.

We express appreciation as well to the dedicated work by the students in the 2015 Ohio State University Moritz College of Law Dispute System Design Workshop, particularly Shanell Bowden, Baylee Butler, Elisabeth McClear, Curt Priest, Robin Reichenberger, and Sara Scheinbach, who used their dispute resolution background to provide research for the April 9 meeting, act as co-facilitators, and distill results. Lauren Madonia, a teaching assistant for the Workshop, Baylee Butler, Robin Reichenberger, and Sara Scheinbach stayed involved after the class and interviewed April 9 participants as well as using their talents and expertise in many other ways to further the Project.

For more information about the Divided Community Project click Who We Are.