Congressional Conversations is an initiative of The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law and John Glenn College of Public Affairs that brings prominent federal legislators to Ohio State on a regular basis. Conversations focus not on the day’s partisan talking points, but rather on improving legislative process, public policy, and leadership in our republic. Students, faculty, and staff have an opportunity to engage with and learn from current federal legislators. Every year the series hosts two conversations. Congressional Conversations is sponsored by the Moritz Program on Law and Leadership and the OSU Office of Government Affairs.


Congresswoman Joyce Beatty (D-OH)

November 19, 2018, 12:15 PM
Page Hall, 1810 College Rd

Congresswoman Joyce Beatty is a native Ohioan with a strong history of connecting people, policy and politics to make a difference. Since 2013, Beatty has proudly represented Ohio’s Third Congressional District. Beatty serves on the House Committee on Financial Services and is a member of two Subcommittees: Housing and Insurance and Oversight and Investigations. The Financial Services Committee oversees the entire financial services industry, including the nation’s banking, securities, insurance, and housing industries, as well as the work of the Federal Reserve, the United States Department of the Treasury and the United States Securities and Exchange Commission.

Register Now

*Registration is required and seating is limited. This event is likely to fill up and interested faculty, staff, students, and friends should register early.


2017 - 2018

Tom Carper (D-DE)


Senator Carper is the senior United States Senator from Delaware, serving since 2001. A member of the Democratic Party, Carper served in the United States House of Representatives from 1983 to 1993 and was the 71st Governor of Delaware from 1993...

Steve Stivers (R-OH)


U.S. Representative Steve Stivers is currently serving his fourth term as a member of Congress and represents Ohio’s 15th Congressional District, which is made up of 12 counties including, all of Clinton, Fairfield, Hocking, Madison, Morgan, ...

2016 - 2017

Pat Tiberi (R-OH)


Congressman Tiberi is a lifelong resident of Central Ohio. He was first elected to represent Ohio‘s 12th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives in November 2000. The 12th District is made up of Delaware, Licking, and Morrow...

Sherrod Brown (D-OH)


Senator Brown was elected to the Senate in 2007 and represented Ohio’s 13th congressional district from 1993-2007. He currently is the ranking democratic member on the Committee of Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs and also serves on the U.S. Senate...


Rob Portman (R-OH)


Senator Portman was elected in 2010. He is often sought-after by leadership for his extensive budgeting and government affairs experience. He serves on the Senate Committee on the Budget, Senate Committee on Finance, Senate Committee on Energy...

Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

House Democratic Leader and former House Speaker

Rep. Pelosi is the Democratic Leader of the House of Representatives in the 114th Congress. From 2007 to 2011, she served as the first woman Speaker of the House, and she has led House Democrats for more than 12 years. Pelosi has represented...