Briefing Room


Winners declared in 2012 Lawrence Negotiation Competition

November 8, 2012 | Students

Records were broken again at this year’s James K.L. Lawrence Negotiation Competition, and the victors have been declared.

The 2012 competition ran Oct. 1-5 with 38 teams of 2Ls and 3Ls – the greatest number of teams in College history, according to Elizabeth Sherowski ’96, moot court program coordinator.

During the competition, teams of two law students, working as advocates for a fictitious client, negotiate against one another. They are judged on their ability to work together, establish rapport with the opposing team, and maximize the interests of their client.

The team of 2L Elisabeth McClear and 3L Cole Dove won the 2012 competition, and 3Ls Kwame Christian and Christopher Stroeer placed second. Both teams will advance on to the American Bar Association’s Regional Negotiation Competition in Lansing, Mich. on Saturday and Sunday. They will be coached by Langdon Fellow in Dispute Resolution Erin Archerd.

The other finalists were the teams of 2Ls Michael Dallaire and Jim Saywelland 3L Luke Fedlam and 2L Benjamin Duval. Fedlam and Duval will represent Moritz at the Transactional LawMeet in Springfield, Mass. in February and will be coached by Dale Oesterle, the J. Gilbert Reese Chair in Contract Law.

The Lawrence has become the largest intraschool competition at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law. It is named after James K.L. Lawrence ’65, a partner at Frost Brown Todd in Cincinnati who returned to Moritz to judge in the final round. He is a skilled advocate in arbitration and astute negotiator in collective bargaining and settlement discussions.