Briefing Room


Students honored at halftime of Buckeye game

January 14, 2014 | Students

Four students who earned national champion moot court honors last year were recognized on the court during halftime of the men’s basketball game against Iowa. Students Jim Saywell, Whitney Siehl, Ariel Brough, and Nikki Baszynski were joined by Dean Alan Michaels, Assistant Dean Monte Smith, Associate Dean Chris Fairman, and Moot Court Program Director Elizabeth Sherowski.  Brough, Saywell, and Siehl made up the Constitutional Law Team that crowned national champion at the Sutherland Cup Moot Court Competition in March 2013. The Sutherland Cup is the oldest national moot court competition in the U.S. It is an appellate advocacy competition focusing on constitutional law. Baszynski  was declared “National Best Advocate” at the 36th Annual American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition in April 2013. In addition to winning “National Best Advocate,” students brought home hardware for both teams being regional champions; for the ABA Scarlet as a national semifinalist; for the ABA Scarlet for fourth-place in “Best Brief”; for Baszynski as eighth-place “Best Advocate” from the Boston regional and second-place “Best Advocate” from the national preliminary rounds; and for Ashley Johns  as 10th-place “National Best Advocate.”