Briefing Room


Student group named ACS chapter of the year

July 1, 2014 | Students

The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law’s chapter of the American Constitution Society (ACS) was named student chapter of the year at the organization’s national convention in Washington, DC.

It was just one of several awards the chapter won at the event.

“I think we received the award for a number of reasons.  We had a lot of energy and excitement going into the fall semester and we just kept building off of that enthusiasm throughout the school year,” former Moritz ACS Chapter President Derek Clinger ’14 said. “We held nearly 40 high-profile events, we developed a really strong relationship with the ACS Columbus Lawyer Chapter – who also won an award at the convention – and ultimately we saw a big increase in our membership.”

The student chapter was also presented with the Programming Award for holding more than 20 events throughout the academic year. This was the second year in a row the group has received the award.

In addition to the chapter’s success as a whole, 3L Brian Jordan was also named the winner of the Constance Baker Motley National Student Writing Competition.

Students were asked to submit essays to the competition, co-sponsored by ACS, the University of Pennsylvania Law School ACS Student Chapter and the University of Pennsylvania Journal of Constitutional Law, on topics discussing progressive legal theory and discourse.

A panel, made up of U.S District Court Judge Pamela Chen of the Eastern District of New York, California Supreme Court Justice Goodwin Liu, U.S. District Court Judge Luis Felipe Restrepo of the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, Professor Nicole Huberfeld of the University of Kentucky College of Law, Professor Steve Sanders of the Indiana University Maurer School of Law and Professor Franita Tolson of Florida State University College of Law, reviewed the students’ entries and submitted their top three recommendations for recognition at the annual convention.

Jordan was selected as the winner and awarded $3,000 for his contribution.

The runners-up were Scott Gorski from Fordham University School of Law and Steven Kolbert from Florida State University College of Law. Both were awarded $1,000 each for their work.