Briefing Room


Moot court teams bring honor to Moritz

April 5, 2012 | Students

Up and down the East Coast, students at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law have brought honor to their school in various moot court competitions this spring.

The ABA Negotiations Scarlet team, comprised of 2L Kwame Christian and 3L Christopher Bordenave, placed high in yet another national competition. They placed second at the NBLSA International Negotiations Competition in Washington, D.C., held March 7-11.

Christian and Bordenave previously won the ABA Regional Negotiations Competition in Ottawa, Canada in November, and they advanced to the semifinal rounds of the ABA National Negotiations Competition in New Orleans in February.

The Corporate Law team, comprised of 3Ls Joseph C. Barsalona II and Thaddeus M. Boggs and 2L Emily A. Farinacci, took second place at the Ruby R. Vale Interschool Corporate Moot Court Competition. Held March 15-18 at Widener University, the team lost in a close decision in the final round, arguing in front of two sitting Delaware justices, two sitting Chancery justices, and a distinguished practitioner.

“They were the hardest-working team I have had the pleasure to coach, and they have been outstanding representatives for Moritz and our moot court program,” said Paul Rose, associate professor of law.

John Kalis, a 3L, was named “best oral advocate” at the Sutherland Cup Competition, held March 23-24 in Washington, D.C. Kalis and his teammates, 3L Megan Fulcher and 2L Nikki Baszynski, also won the best brief prize. The team advanced to the final round, losing an extremely close argument to Boston University.

The competition, hosted by The Catholic University of America, is the oldest moot court competition in the United States and one of the most prestigious. Teams must submit a brief and deliver oral arguments before a panel of practicing attorneys. This is the fourth time in the past seven years that a Moritz student has been named best oral advocate in the competition and the third time the College’s team has advanced to the final round.

– Monica DeMeglio