Briefing Room


2012 Herman Competition winners announced

March 1, 2012 | Students

A group of 2Ls took top spots in this year’s annual Herman Competition at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law.

Leading the pack was Ashley Johns, the Best Oralist. She and three other finalists – Nikki Baszynski, Jason Grenell, and Caitlin Murphy – argued Miller v. Alabama, which explores the constitutionality of life-without-parole sentences for juvenile offenders who are tried as adults, according to Moot Court Program Coordinator Elizabeth Sherowski ’96.

The finalists argued before Chief Judge Alice Batchelder of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, Justice Robert Cupp of the Supreme Court of Ohio, and Doug Berman, the Robert J. Watkins/Procter & Gamble Professor of Law.

As top finishers, the students will represent Moritz on moot court travel teams next year.

– Monica DeMeglio