Briefing Room


Rogers Honored by League of Women Voters

June 2, 2011 | Faculty

Nancy Rogers, Professor and Michael E. Moritz Chair in Dispute Resolution, was honored with the League of Women Voter’s Democracy in Action award in May. The tribute to Rogers featured E. Gordon Gee, president of The Ohio State University, Richard Cordray, former Ohio Attorney General, Alan C. Michaels, Dean and Edwin M. Cooperman Professor of Law, Sharon Davies, John C. Elam/Vorys Sater Designated Professor of Law, and Carl Smallwood ’80 of Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP.

Rogers is the former dean at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law and has served as President of the Association of American Law Schools, was appointed by President Clinton to the Board of Directors of the Legal Services Corporation, served as one of Ohio’s five commissioners on the National Conference of Commissioners of Uniform State Laws, and chaired the Judicial Advisory Committee, which reviews candidates for the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio. In 2008, she was appointed Ohio Attorney General.

“I take great pleasure to take part in paying tribute to one of Ohio State’s finest treasures, a woman whose entire professional life embodies the land-grant mission of public service upon which Ohio State was founded,” President Gee said at the event. “While serving as attorney general was her brightest moment in the public spotlight, Nancy has been serving the people of this state and the cause of good government for decades. She has lived the values that we preach to our students, and made us all the better for it.”