Briefing Room


Professor Olwyn Conway and Professor Anne E. Ralph receive 2020 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching

May 30, 2020 | Faculty

On Thursday, May 7th, President Drake, Senior Vice Provost Kay Wolf, and several other members of the Ohio State community made a surprise visit to the college’s virtual faculty meeting. The purpose of the visit was to award Professor Anne E. Ralph and Professor Olwyn Conway with the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching.

The Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching annually recognizes a maximum of ten faculty members for their teaching excellence. Students, faculty, and alumni may nominate faculty; and a committee of students, previous recipients, and alumni choose the recipients.

Professors Conway and Ralph will receive a $5,000 honorarium made possible by gifts from The Ohio State University Alumni Association, University Advancement, and the Office of Academic Affairs. In addition, the Office of Academic Affairs awards an increase of $1,200 to each recipient’s base salary. The award recipients will also become members of the university’s  Academy of Teaching.