Briefing Room


Deason wins university teaching award

February 24, 2016 | Faculty

Professor Ellen E. Deason, the Joanne Wharton Murphy/Classes of 1965 and 1973 Professor of Law, received the university’s Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching in a surprise ceremony during her International Business Arbitration class today.  The award recognizes teaching excellence, and faculty are nominated by students, other faculty, and alumni. Only 10 of Ohio State’s more than 5,000 faculty receive the award annually. Bruce McPheron, interim executive vice president and provost, presented Professor Deason with her award.

Professor Deason is often praised by students for her innovative classroom exercises, willingness to help and meet with students one-on-one, and compassionate and engaging style. She was also awarded the College of Law’s Morgan E. Shipman Outstanding Professor of the Year award in 2015.

“The remarkable quality of her teaching, her above-and-beyond investment of time to ensure student success, her warm and understanding nature that leads students to seek her guidance, and her involvement in the Moritz community and service to students in and outside of the classroom clearly exhibit her sincere commitment to Ohio State’s teaching mission,” said Alan C. Michaels, dean and Edwin M. Cooperman Chair in Law.

Professor Deason joined the Ohio State law faculty in 2003. She teaches Civil Procedure, Dispute Resolution, International Business Arbitration, the Mediation Clinic, and Law and Genetics. Previously, she taught at the University of Illinois College of Law and worked at Morrison & Foerster in Washington D.C. She clerked for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Harry A. Blackmun after graduating from the University of Michigan School of Law.

Professor Deason is the third Moritz faculty member to win the award in the past five years.