Briefing Room


Dean Lincoln L. Davies announces faculty promotions following 2020-21 academic year

May 25, 2021 | Faculty

On May 21, Dean & Frank R. Strong Chair in Law Lincoln L. Davies announced four faculty promotions following the 2020-21 academic year.

“Please join me in congratulating each of our tremendous colleagues on this exciting news,” Davies said. “Though the results are hardly surprising, they are indeed worthy of much celebration.”

Amna Akbar was promoted from Associate Professor to full Professor after nearly a decade with Moritz College of Law. Akbar, an expert in the area criminal law and procedure, joined the college in 2012 as a Visiting Assistant Professor of Law. In her time at Moritz she has taught Criminal Law; Law and Social Movements; Prisons, Policing and Borders; Clinic. Additional Teaching Interests: Law, Race, and Capitalism; Movement Lawyering; Approaches to Law Reform; Criminal Procedure. She earned her J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School in 2004, where she also served as the Editor-In-Chief of the Michigan Law Review.

Bryan Choi earned a promotion from Assistant Professor of Law to Associate Professor of Law (with tenure). Choi joined the Moritz faculty in 2016 after stops at New York Law School and the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He earned both his B.A. and J.D. from Harvard University and also serves as an Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at The Ohio State University.

Assistant Clinical Professor of Law Olwyn Conway was promoted to Associate Clinical Professor and a reappointment as Clinical Faculty. An expert in the area of criminal law and procedure, Conway also came to Moritz in 2016 and has been tasked with teaching and supervising the Criminal Prosecution Clinic (fall semester) and Criminal Defense Clinic (spring semester). In addition, Conway teaches Effective Communication for Lawyers.

Finally, Katherine Kelly was reappointed to Clinical Faculty at Moritz. Kelly, who teaches Legal Analysis and Writing (LAW) I and II, and Legal Analysis Workshop, is also the director of the Academic Support Program where she assists students with bar exam preparation and support services. She was awarded Morgan E. Shipman Outstanding Professor award in 2016, and in 2017 received the Ohio State University Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching.