Briefing Room


Chamallas given Distinguished Scholar Award

April 4, 2013 | Faculty

Professor Martha Chamallas, the Robert J. Lynn Chair in Law, has received The Ohio State University’s Distinguished Scholar Award.

Established in 1978, the award recognizes exceptional scholarly accomplishments by senior professors who have compiled a substantial body of research. The award is supported by the Office of Research. Distinguished Scholars receive a $3,000 honorarium and a research grant of $20,000 to be used over the next three years.

Chamallas is a leading scholar in a number of fields, including torts, employment discrimination law, and legal issues affecting women. She is the author of three books and more than 40 articles and essays in law journals such as the Michigan Law Review, the University of Pennsylvania Law Review, the University of Chicago Law Review, UCLA Law Review, and the Southern California Law Review. She is a member of the American Law Institute, Torts Consultative Group, and has participated on Gender and Race Bias Task Forces for the states of Iowa and Pennysylvania. At The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, she teaches Torts, Employment Discrimination, and Gender and the Law.

Chamallas has also testified before the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on the Judiciary. Her research is cited frequently by attorneys and judges, demonstrating that her scholarship has practical applications in the field of law.

“Professor Chamallas is also extremely highly regarded in the academic community. She is one of the nation’s leading experts on feminist legal theory, and her treatise on that subject, now in its second edition, is a ‘must have’ volume in the field,” said Alan C. Michaels, dean of the Moritz College of Law. “She is in high demand as a guest lecturer and panelist, owing no doubt to her dynamic, energetic speaking style and her obvious passion for her subject matter.”

Chamallas joins Moritz professors Greg Caldeira, Ruth Colker, Joshua Dressler, Deborah Merritt, John Quigley, and Peter Shane in receiving this extraordinary distinction.