Briefing Room


CBA to honor Moritz faculty, alumnus

May 2, 2013 | Faculty

The Columbus Bar Association will present the Liberty Bell Awards to two professors at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law in June.

Associate Professor Michelle Alexander and Sharon L. Davies, the John C. Elam/Vorys Sater Professor of Law and director of the Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity, will receive the award. According to the organization’s website, the award recognizes the recipient’s “leadership and dedication to the principles of our democratic system of government by law” and identifies the recipient as one “who promotes the general welfare and secures the blessing of liberty to ourselves and our posterity.”

Additionally, the Columbus Bar Association will honor alumnus Frank A. Ray ’73 with the Bar Service Medal for his long history of distinguished service to the organization. It is the highest honor accorded by the Columbus Bar Association, according to the group’s website. Ray, principal of Frank A. Ray Co., L.P.A., has practiced in Columbus for 40 years in civil litigation and appellate matters.

Monica DeMeglio