Briefing Room


Moritz alumni celebrating election success

November 3, 2010 | Alumni

Alumni of The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law secured several key positions in Tuesday’s General Election.

Brian Sandoval ’89 was elected as governor of Nevada with 54 percent of the vote. Before entering the campaign, Sandoval was a U.S. District judge for the District of Nevada. Prior to his judgeship, Sandoval (R) was Nevada’s attorney general.

Five Moritz alumni won seats in the Ohio House of Representatives. They are: William Batchelder ’67 (R-Medina County); John P. Carney ’01 (D-Franklin County); Kathleen Clyde ’08 (D-Portage County); Peter Stautberg ’93 (R-Hamilton County); and Michael Stinziano ’07 (D-Franklin County).

Clarence Mingo ’98 (R) was elected as Franklin County auditor. Mingo was originally appointed to the position in August 2009.

Several alumni were successful in their runs for judicial seats throughout Ohio. Paul Pfeifer ’66 was reelected to his seat on the Supreme Court of Ohio. Julia Dorrian ’96, Julia A. Edwards ’78, Judith French ’88, and Carla D. Moore ’77 were elected to seats in Ohio Courts of Appeals.

Four alumni were elected to Franklin County Court of Common Pleas judgeships; they are John F. Bender ’71, Kim Browne ’93, Kimberly Cocroft ’00, Richard Frye ’73, and Mark Serrott ’79.

Other alumni elected to Courts of Common Pleas throughout Ohio included: Michael Ward ’71, Athens County; Robert Batchelor ’92, Coshocton County; David Fuhry ’77, Geauga County; Denise Herman McColley ’81, Henry County; Robert Rinfret ’72, Holmes County; Otho Eyster ’75, Knox County; Mark Stanton O’Connor ’69, Logan County; Robert Nichols ’67, Madison County; Randy Deering ’74, Pike County; James D. Henson ’69, Richland County; Jeffrey Simmons ’79, Vinton County; and Timothy Oliver ’74, Warren County.

Some Moritz graduates did not fare as well. Both Mary Jo Kilroy ’80 (D-Ohio) and Zachary Space ’86 (D-Ohio) lost their seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. Yvette McGee Brown ’85 (D) lost her run for Ohio’s lieutenant governor. Mark Schneider ’00 (D-Lake County) fell short in his run for the Ohio House of Representatives.

Aaron Ford ’01 (D) lost in his run for a Nevada State Senate seat.

Kimberley Doucher ’96 and Ron Plymale ’68 were defeated in their runs as judges in the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas. Charles Bean ’72 and David Trouten, Jr. ’93 were narrowly defeated in their campaigns for judge in Belmont County Court, Eastern Division. Others included: Heather Lowenkamp Cockley ’91, Richland County; Mark Davis ’99, Lucas County; Sean Warner ’02, Holmes County; Pamela Barker ’82, Cuyahoga County; and Barbara Moser ’82, Geauga County.

The College acknowledges that this is likely not a comprehensive list of alumni candidates.