Briefing Room


Bar Association, Foundation Welcome Moritz Alumni

July 1, 2010 | Alumni

Several The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law alumni were recently named to the boards of the Columbus Bar Association and the Columbus Bar Foundation. Moritz alumni also assumed the roles of president to both organizations.

The 2010-2011 Columbus Bar Association Board of Governors include five Moritz alumni. Hon. Stephen L. McIntosh ’83 was sworn in on June 4 as president of the board. McIntosh is a judge for the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas.

David S. Bloomfield, Jr. ’97 was elected to the position of president-elect. Bloomfield is a partner at Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur. Elizabeth J. Watters ’90, a partner at Chester, Willcox & Saxbe, will serve as past president of the board after serving as the president previous to McIntosh’s election.

Aaron L. Granger ’96, a partner with Schottenstein, Zox & Dunn, will be serving his first elected term on the board. He first joined the board in 2009 to take over the rest of Bloomfield’s term, after he was elected secretary-treasurer for that year.

Anthony M. Sharett ’02 continues his term as a sitting board member. Sharett is an associate with Bricker & Eckler. Gregory M. Travalio, a professor emeritus at Moritz, is also sitting on the 2010-11 board.

Ford Huffman ’80 was installed as the president of the Columbus Bar Foundation, which is the philanthropic arm of the Columbus legal community. Huffman operates his own Columbus law firm.

Several other Moritz alumni were sworn in as new trustees on the Foundation Board in June, including: Belinda Barnes ’87, Michael Carpenter ’77, Paul Giorgianni ’95, Judge Carrie Gladean ’89, and Judge Guy Reece ’81. All were sworn in for three-year terms.