September 5, 2013


Also in this month's SideBar...


›› Moritz Alumni Award-winners announced
›› Alumnus teaches 56,000 the dangers of sexting

Law School News...

›› Alumnus honored with Distinguished Service Award
›› TBDTITL returns to Moritz
›› Need tickets to the Iowa game?
›› Race Judicata to benefit Grassbaugh Veterans Project
›› Lawrence Lecture to focus on negotiation ethics
›› ‘National conversation’ on politics comes to Ohio State
›› Bodiker lecture to feature prosecutor in Usama bin Laden, Blagojevich cases
›› Symposium to focus on tort, anti-discrimination law
›› Solomon appointed to LSAC board
›› More Moritz News


›› 12 & High


›› Moritz 'On the Record'

More from SideBar...

›› Multimedia
›› Alumni Events Calendar
›› Submit Alumni Notes
›› Support the Law School
›› Update Contact Information

Moritz Alumni Award-winners announced

The Ohio State University will honor some of its most illustrious and compassionate alumni during Reunion Weekend, held Oct. 18-20 in Columbus.

There is still time to register for the weekend’s activities, which include a cocktail reception, dinner, and Moritz Alumni Awards Ceremony on Friday and a spectacular tailgate on the Drinko Hall lawn Saturday prior to the Ohio State-Iowa football game. For more details or to register, click here.

Among those honored at the awards ceremony Friday night at The Westin Columbus are William M. Isaac ’69, former chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. under the Carter and Reagan administrations; Franklin County Common Pleas Court Judge Richard A. Frye ’73; Ohio state Rep. Kathleen Clyde ’08; Mimi Dane ’89, the CEO of a year-round camp that allows seriously ill children; and Dianna Parker ’05, pro bono coordinator at the Legal Aid Society of Columbus.

They will receive the following awards:

  • William M. Isaac is the 2013 recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Award, which is given annually to a Moritz graduate for exceptional achievement or outstanding service to Moritz or the community.

    He is a senior managing director of FTI Consulting and serves as global head of FTI’s Financial Institutions group, which provides regulatory counseling and risk management services, strategy consulting, expert testimony, and corporate governance consulting for financial Institutions, law firms, and governments. He also serves as Chairman of Fifth Third Bancorp, one of the nation’s leading banking companies.

    Isaac headed the FDIC during the banking and S&L crises of the 1980s, for which he provided an insider’s account in his book Senseless Panic: How Washington Failed America. Isaac is involved extensively in thought leadership relating to the financial services industry and provides advice to policymakers worldwide. His articles are published in The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The New York Times, American Banker, Forbes, Financial Times, The Washington Times, and other leading publications. He also appears regularly on leading television and radio programs, has been a contributor to CNBC, testifies before Congress, and is a frequent speaker before audiences throughout the world.
  • Hon. Richard A. Frye is the 2013 recipient of the Distinguished Jurist Award at the Moritz College of Law. The honor is given to a current or former judge who has graduated from the college and whose personal integrity and commitment to fairness, freedom, and equality exemplify the highest ideals of the judicial system.

    Described by Columbus attorneys as an “asset to the commercial docket,” Frye was elected to the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas in 2004 and re-elected without opposition in 2010. His dedicated work ethic and commitment to fairness in the judicial system is evidenced in the fact that 16 of his opinions have been published in Ohio Misc. 2d and many cited by the Sixth Circuit and supreme courts of Ohio, Minnesota, and South Dakota – a rare feat for trial court opinions.

    In 2008, Frye was one of two common pleas judges selected by Chief Justice Thomas J. Moyer ’64 to direct Franklin County’s commercial docket pilot program. This pilot project focused on uniformity in decision-making in business law and placing commercial cases on an 18-month fast-track. At the conclusion of the pilot program in 2012, many attorneys praised Frye for his excellent work and wrote to The Columbus Dispatch, stating that he was an “asset to the commercial docket.” In 2012, Frye was recognized by the Columbus Bar Association with its Liberty Bell Award for his extraordinary efforts in the community and his demonstrated leadership and dedication to the principles of a democratic system of government by law.
  • Kathleen Clyde is the 2013 recipient of the Outstanding Recent Alumna Award, which is given to an individual who has graduated in the last 10 years and whose accomplishments exemplify outstanding professionalism or loyalty to the Moritz community.

    She is serving her second term in the Ohio House of Representatives, where she is working on issues such as creating a uniform, statewide process for dealing with and counting provisional ballots during elections, and co-sponsoring a bill to protect victims of domestic violence by keeping their home addresses confidential. Clyde sits on several committees, including the Higher Education Subcommittee, Finance and Appropriations Committee, State Government and Elections Committee, and Redistricting Subcommittee.

    She also is an associate at Williams, Welser, Kratcoski & Can, LLC and works on family, real estate, and small-business law.
  • Mimi Dane will receive the Community Service Award, which is given to a graduate who has volunteered significant and sustained time and expertise to assist a local, state, national, or international humanitarian organization.

    As the CEO of Flying Horse Farms, Dane is responsible for the overall direction and leadership of the camp, which allows seriously ill children to forget about their sicknesses and feel a sense of pride, accomplishment, and freedom. She also has served on the board of directors of the Women’s Fund of Central Ohio, an organization that provides grant funding to promote social change for women and girls in Central Ohio, and she has been a member of The Ohio State University President’s Council on Women’s Issues. An avid runner, she also has served on the Columbus Marathon Board of Directors and volunteers with the Columbus chapter of the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.
  • Dianna Parker will receive the Public Service Award, which is given to a graduate whose public interest career exemplifies a commitment to promote and provide access to the legal system.

    Parker, pro bono coordinator at the Legal Aid Society of Columbus, helps to improve the lives of and empower low-income residents and senior citizens of Columbus by providing high-quality legal representation to meet her clients’ civil legal needs. She accepted a staff attorney position at The Legal Aid Society after serving as an Equal Justice Works Fellow for two years, in which she worked on a statewide project assessing and addressing the educational and legal rights of homeless youth. Parker also has served as a big sister in the Big Brothers Big Sisters program since 2005 and regularly assists with the Volunteer Resource Center Housing Project.

SideBar is a monthly electronic newsletter for Moritz College of Law alumni. Questions regarding this publication should be directed to