June 2, 2011


Also in this month's SideBar...


›› Bame '59 Takes on New Career Coaching Lawyers
›› Sanchez '09 Lives Public Interest Dream

Law School News...

›› Rogers Honored by League of Women Voters
›› Merritt, Smith Elected Outstanding Faculty/Staff by Class of 2011
›› Schonauer '10, Khan '10 Articles Recognized for Achievement
›› Professor Verdun Wins University Diversity Award
›› More Moritz News


›› Spring Hooding 2011
›› Black Law Student Association Banquet
›› 12 & High


›› Moritz 'On the Record'

More from SideBar...

›› Multimedia
›› Alumni Events Calendar
›› Submit Alumni Notes
›› Support the Law School
›› Update Contact Information

Merritt, Smith Elected Outstanding Faculty/Staff by Class of 2011

For the second year in a row, Professor Deborah Jones Merritt has been elected the Morgan E. Shipman Outstanding Professor by the graduating class. In the 2010-11 school year, Merritt taught Evidence, the Business of Law, and the Criminal Defense Practicum.

“I’m overwhelmed! We have so many outstanding professors at the College of Law--I was surprised to be chosen last year, and I’m doubly honored this year,” Professor Merritt said. “I think good teaching rests on knowledge, enthusiasm, and personal connection. I try to learn as much as I can about my subjects, share my passion, and work to connect with the students’ perspective.”

Merritt is the John Deaver Drinko-Baker & Hostetler Chair in Law.

Monte Smith, assistant dean for academic affairs, was elected Outstanding Staff Member for the third year in a row.

“I’m honored,” he said. “I feel like I should be giving them an award, not the other way around.”

In total, more than 50 awards were given to students during the Hooding Ceremony and the Honors Convocation, which was held earlier in the day. Notably, the class as a whole performed more than 13,500 pro bono legal volunteer hours, serving more than 54 organizations from Alaska to Vermont, Texas to Illinois, and DC to Toledo.

SideBar is a monthly electronic newsletter for Moritz College of Law alumni. Questions regarding this publication should be directed to moritzlawnews@osu.edu.