Joint-Degree Programs

Elite 1-4-4Aerial of OvalThe Ohio State University offers 100 master’s degree and 94 doctoral programs, providing students at the Moritz College of Law with one of the country’s largest selections of joint- or dual-degree options. Moritz students can choose from one of four formal joint-degree programs or arrange a personalized ad hoc dual-degree program that best complements their legal studies and career plans.

The Moritz College of Law has established four formal joint-degree programs that provide students with a variety of interdisciplinary education options:

  • the J.D./M.B.A. with the Fisher College of Business,
  • the J.D./M.H.A. with the College of Public Health,
  • the J.D./M.A. in public policy with the John Glenn School of Public Affairs, and
  • the J.D./M.D. with the College of Medicine.

These joint-degree programs enable students to work toward two degrees simultaneously and to complete requirements for both degrees in less time than it would to complete the degrees separately by applying credits for certain courses to both programs.

Moritz students whose interests are not met by one of the four formal degree programs may seek approval to combine their legal studies with one of many graduate-level programs offered at Ohio State.

Application Process

Students must apply separately to each degree program. This often means taking the LSAT and the standardized test required by the other college or department. Students may apply to both programs at the same time and defer their admission to one of the programs until the following year, or they may wait until their first year of law school to apply to the other program.

Admission to one program does not guarantee admission to another program. Students who are accepted to both programs must meet with Assistant Dean of Students Darren Nealy at the College of Law and a representative from the other program to develop an approved plan of study. Dean Nealy can be contacted at (614) 688-4676 or

Graduation Requirements

Moritz students must complete 88 semester hours of coursework to receive a J.D. However, most joint-degree students may apply up to 12 credits from another department for course work that is part of an approved joint- or dual-degree program toward their law school graduation requirements.

In most cases, the other degree-granting program has agreed to apply a designated number of Moritz credits, which permits joint-degree students to receive two degrees in less time than it would take if they earned the degrees sequentially.

In all cases, joint-degree students must complete the first year law school curriculum in one academic year without taking non-law courses. First-year law students must take the following courses:

Fall Semester Winter Semester
Civil Procedure (4 credits) Property (4 credits)
Criminal Law (4 credits) Contracts (4 credits)
Torts (4 credits) Legislation & Regulation (3 credits)
Legal Analysis and Writing I (2 credits) Legal Analysis and Writing II (2 credits)

Additional J.D. graduation requirements include 1) Constitutional Law (4 credits), 2) either Appellate Advocacy (2 credits) or Transactional Practice (2 credits), 3) a seminar course (2 credits), 4) a course in professional responsibility or ethics (2-3 credits), and 5) experiential coursework (2 credits). A total of 88 credit hours are required to graduate from the Moritz College of Law.


Tuition is assessed on a semester basis. During those semesters in which a student is exclusively enrolled in one program, he or she will pay the tuition charged by that program. During semesters in which a student is enrolled in both programs, he or she will pay tuition to the program with the greater tuition rate. Law school scholarships may be prorated in accordance with college policy in years in which a student is enrolled in both programs.

View the Brochure: