Upcoming Events

Tuesday, March 31, 2015
12:00 PM - 1:20 PM
Saxbe Auditorium

Deboer v. Snyder: a Preview of the Seminal Marriage Equality Case

Speakers and Participants

Keynote Speakers

Julie Brill

Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission

Since joining the commission in 2009, Julie Brill has worked actively on issues most
affecting today’s consumers, including protecting consumers’ privacy, encouraging
appropriate advertising substantiation, guarding consumers from financial fraud, and
maintaining competition in industries involving high tech and health care. Before she became a commissioner, Brill was the senior deputy attorney general and Justice, a lecturer-in-law at Columbia Law School, and an assistant attorney general for consumer protection and antitrust for the State of Vermont for more than 20 years.

Daniel Weitzner

Former Deputy Chief Technology Officer for Internet Policy in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Daniel Weitzner was responsible for online privact, cybersecurity, Internet copyright protection, and the global free flow of information on the Internet in his role as deputy
chief technology officer until the summer of 2012. Prior to joining the White House, he was associate administrator for policy at the United States Department of Commerce’s National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA). Before that, he served as a member of the Obama-Biden presidential transition project technology
policy team. Weitzner also founded the MIT CSAIL Decentralized Information Group, which researches social and technical aspects of the World Wide Web, has taught Internet public policy in MIT’s Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department, and was Policy Director of the World Wide Web Consortium.

Symposium Advisor & Introductory Remarks

Professor Peter Swire

C. William O’Neill Professor in Law and Judicial Administration, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

Professor Peter Swire is a national and global leader on privacy, cybersecurity, and related technology issues. He is director of the College’s Washington, D.C., Summer Program, a senior fellow at the Center of American Progress and Future of Privacy Forum, and policy fellow at the Center for Democracy and Technology. Under President Clinton, Swire served as chief counselor for privacy in the U.S. Office of Management and Budget. His activites there include being White House coordinator for the HIPAA medical privacy rule and chairing a White House working group on how to update wiretap laws for the Internet. In 2009 and 2010, Swire was a special assistant to President Obama for Economic Policy, serving in the National Economic Council with Lawrence Summers. Swire’s work in that role included broadband, spectrum, privacy, and other technology issues.


Professor Ann Bartow, Pace Law School

Professor Lorrie Cranor, Associate Professor of Computer Science and of Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

Professor Claudia Diaz, COISC Research Group, Department of Electrical Engineering, K.U. Leuven (Belgium)

Professor Katherine FederleThe Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

John Frank, Deputy General Counsel of Microsoft Corporation

Professor A. Michael Froomkin, University of Miami School of Law

Professor Graham Greenleaf, Professor of Law, University of New South Wales (Australia)

Professor Woodrow Hartzog, Cumberland School of Law, Samford University

Kirk Herath, Vice President and Privacy Officer, Nationwide Insurance Companies

Professor Dennis Hirsch, Capital University Law School

Gus Hosein, Ph.D., Executive Director of Privacy International (United Kingdom)

Professor Anil Kalhan, Drexel University

Geoffrey Manne, Executive Director of the International Center for Law and Economics

Bartosz MarcinkowskiPartner at Domański Zakrzewski Palinka (Poland)

Mark Perry, Faculty of Law, University of Western Ontario (Canada)

Professor Guy RubThe Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

Berin Szoka, President, TechFreedom

Professor Omer Tene, College of Management School of Law, Rishon Le Zion (Israel)

Professor Yofi Tirosh, Facult of Law, Tel Aviv University (Israel)

Professor Tal Zarsky, Faculty of Law, University of Haifa (Israel)

Co-Sponsored by:

Msft logo Goog Logo
CILPS logo
IPLS logo ILS logo