The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law May 2012
ADR @ Moritz

Moritz Honors Three Students with ADR Writing Prize


The Moritz College of Law recently honored three students with the 2012 Nancy H. Rogers Prize in Dispute Resolution Scholarship. The awards were presented on April 24th at a ceremony presided over by Dean Alan Michaels.

The winners this year were:

· First Prize: David Moritz (’12) and Nikki Baszynski (’13), SPEAK: A Dispute System Design for Solving Identity-Based Conflict at the Moritz College of Law

· Second Prize: Nikki Baszynski (’13), School Based Racial Discrimination: A New Path

· Honorable Mention: Amanda Zerheusen (’12), Who Has Responsibility to Protect the Palestinians?

Each year, the award recognizes students who, in the judgment of a committee of faculty members who teach dispute resolution, wrote research papers on a dispute resolution topic that, in the donor's language, "reflect the analytical rigor and intellectual breadth associated with highly-regarded scholarly contributions." Papers are primarily nominated by faculty members in the Program on Alternative Dispute Resolution, but students were able to submit their own papers as well. The selection committee this year consisted of Professors Joseph Stulberg, Chris Fairman, and Ellen Deason.

“This year, perhaps even more than past years, the Rogers Prize competition required the judges to consider and compare papers from a variety of different courses, including mediation, arbitration, dispute systems design and our inter-ethnic conflicts course,” said Director of Alternative Dispute Resolution Sarah Cole. “I want to thank this year’s judges, Professors Deason, Stulberg and Fairman, for taking the time to evaluate carefully these outstanding student efforts.”

The Rogers Prize was created in 1999 by an anonymous donor, with the stipulation that it be named in honor of Nancy H. Rogers, who, at that time, was the Joseph S. Platt-Porter Wright Morris & Arthur Professor of Law and Director of the Program on Dispute Resolution. She now holds the Michael E. Moritz Chair in Alternative Dispute Resolution, and has served as Ohio Attorney General, Dean of the Moritz College of Law, Vice Provost for Academic Administration of The Ohio State University, and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for the Moritz College of Law.

Latest Headlines
Moritz ADR Links
Contact Us

The Ohio State University
Moritz College of Law
55 West 12th Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43210-1391

Erin Archerd
Langdon Fellow in Dispute Resolution
(614) 688-4192

The Caucus, the newsletter published by the Moritz Program on Dispute Resolution, is designed to share ADR news with the Moritz community and beyond, as well as provide Moritz students with information regarding externship and employment opportunities. Questions regarding this publication should be directed to Erin Archerd, Langdon Fellow in Dispute Resolution.