Oxford Programs

Oxford main building - web

The Moritz College of Law offers three study-abroad programs in Oxford, England. Below is a brief description of each.

Summer in Oxford Program

The University of Oxford-Ohio State University Summer Law Program is conducted at the University of Oxford from June through August. The program is jointly conducted by the Oxford University Department for Continuing Education and The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law.

It is fully accredited by the American Bar Association, and students may receive up to six semester hours of law school credit. Acceptance of credit is at the discretion of the student’s home school, but most ABA-accredited law schools accept credit from the program. All students who have completed at least one year at an ABA-accredited law school are eligible to apply. Admission is on a first come-first served basis.

Courses are taught by both Moritz College of Law and British faculty. Courses that have been offered in the past include Comparative Legal Professions, Comparative Employment Discrimination Law, Comparative Sales and Product Liability Law, European Union Law, Comparative Sentencing and Punishment, International Intellectual Property, Comparative Election Law, Comparative Corporate Law, Comparative Employment Discrimination, Comparative Civil Procedure, and Comparative Dispute Resolution.

Oxford University Pre-Law Program

For over two decades, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law has offered a unique opportunity for students to study English and American legal systems at one of the oldest universities in the world. Housed at St. Anne’s College on the campus of the University of Oxford, the Pre-Law Program provides students with an understanding of English culture and legal institutions fundamental to the American legal system, and exposes students to aspects of British cultural life. This five-week program integrates classes, guest lectures, and field trips to places of legal, historical and cultural interest.

Semester in Oxford Program

The Ohio State-Georgia Law Semester Program at Oxford runs for 15 weeks, from January to April. The program is jointly conducted by the Moritz College of Law and the University of Georgia School of Law and has been approved by the American Bar Association.

The semester in Oxford program is open to both second and third-year law students. Twenty students are selected each year, five through Moritz and 15 through Georgia.

Students take four courses and receive 12 semester hours of credit toward the juris doctor degree. Three of the four courses address comparative and international law subjects, and are taught in a “traditional” small group classroom setting in the Oxford tradition. The fourth course is a supervised research tutorial, in which each student writes a lengthy research paper on a comparative or international law topic of their own choosing.

While enrolled, students are associate members of St. Anne’s College, one of the 40 colleges that make up the University of Oxford.