The Law School Magazine  ·  Summer 2009 : Dean's Letter

From the Dean’s Desk

Print | Email

Although most of our students are away for the summer the work throughout Drinko Hall certainly hasn’t quieted. My faculty colleagues are busy researching and writing various books, law review articles, treatises, and speeches about cutting-edge legal issues facing us at home and abroad. Our dedicated staff is busily preparing for the next academic year. And, as always, we are making improvements to our physical plant: most notably this summer there’s some remodeling of the law library, updating of our older classrooms, and refurbishment of our exterior main entrance on 12th Avenue.

This issue of All Rise recounts some of the highlights of the past semester, including an outstanding Ohio State Law Journal symposium with U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Thanks to the combined efforts of the Journal students, faculty, and staff the symposium (honoring Justice Ginsburg’s 15th year anniversary on the Court) was a tremendous success, garnering prominent media coverage in The New York Times, Washington Post, and on C-SPAN. We look forward to a second visit to Moritz this calendar year by another sitting Supreme Court Justice in November (see page 6 for more details).

In other exciting news, we also report on numerous recent developments with our faculty, including new titles, awards, and the release of major new publications. For example, as reported in the “In Brief” section (see page 2), Professor Ruth Colker was named a Distinguished University Professor, the highest distinction faculty can achieve at Ohio State. Ruth, a pathbreaking scholar renowned for her work in anti-discrimination and disability law, is the first law professor to receive the designation. These honors underscore the continuation of our legacy of outstanding teaching and scholarship.

In addition to updates from your classmates, in this issue you will read about the interesting lives of our distinguished alumni, including Daniel McQuade ’67, Catherine Adams ’78, and this year’s co-winners of the William K. Thomas Distinguished Jurist Award:  Hon. Mark Abel ’69 and Hon. Norah McCann King ’75.

I wish you a safe and happy summer, and please keep us informed of your accomplishments and new developments. I look forward to seeing you in your local communities or here on campus.


Alan C. Michaels

Dean and Edwin M. Cooperman Professor of Law

Tags: , , , ,