Fall 2006 Election Law Symposium Contributors Announced

On Friday, September 29 and Saturday, September 30, 2006, the Ohio State Law Journal (OSLJ) and Election Law @ Moritz (EL@M) will co-sponsor a symposium on "Election Law and the Roberts Court." This symposium will address the Texas redistricting and Vermont campaign finance cases as the first evidence of potential changes in the Court's philosophical approach to the "law of democracy" with the recent additions of Chief Justice John Roberts and Justice Samuel Alito to the bench. Contributors may also discuss the application of jurisprudential themes (like potential tensions between "original intent" and "stare decisis") as they apply to particular topics of election law, including the future of Bush v. Gore and "equal protection" constraints on the vote counting process. Participants will publish articles on this topic in an issue of the Ohio State Law Journal, tentatively scheduled to be released in the spring of 2007.

OSLJ and EL@M are pleased to announce that the following individuals will be participating in this symposium:

  • Richard Briffault, Columbia University
  • Guy-Uriel Charles, University of Minnesota
  • Edward Foley, The Ohio State University
  • John C. Fortier, American Enterprise Institute
  • Heather Gerken, Yale University
  • Linda Greenhouse, New York Times
  • Rick Hasen, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
  • Samuel Issacharoff, New York University
  • Michael Kang, Emory University
  • Pam Karlan, Stanford University
  • Ellen Katz, University of Michigan
  • Dan Lowenstein, University of California at Los Angeles
  • Richard Pildes, New York University
  • Brad Smith, Capital University
  • Michael E. Solimine, University of Cincinnati
  • Daniel Tokaji, The Ohio State University

The symposium will feature three panels on its first day, followed by one panel and a roundtable discussion on its second day.

Additional information about the symposium's schedule, registration, cost of attendance, and CLE credit will be forthcoming. Please check back on this web site and the web site of the OSLJ for upcoming announcements.

For questions about the election law symposium, please contact EL@M Director Edward Foley at foley.33@osu.edu, EL@M Associate Director Daniel Tokaji at Tokaji.1@osu.edu, or OSLJ Symposium Editor Matthew Byrne at byrne.79@osu.edu.