Class Notes

Do you have something to share? Get a new job? Earn that promotion? Win an award? Get married? Have a child? Let us know! We are always interested in keeping up with our alumni. These Notes that you submit may be used in alumni publications and appear on this web site.

Lawrence Stotter, 1958

Lawrence Stotter '58 is the first recipient of the "Legal Legend" Award established by the Family Law Section of the American Bar Association (ABA). Stotter was presented the award at the ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Stotter, who is now retired, lives in Tiburon, Calif.

Shama Ahmed, 2002

Shama Ahmed '02 and her husband, Aheed Siddiqi, welcomed their third child, Eesa, on June 25, 2010. They have two older children, Mohsin and Sakeena. The family currently resides in Glen Ellyn, Ill.

Roland Baggott, 1998

Roland W. Baggott III ’98 was recognized by the Mid-South Super Lawyers as a “Rising Star” for the second consecutive year. He also has been appointed to the Steering Committee for the ABA Forum on Franchising's Litigation and Dispute Resolution Division. The committee is responsible for addressing issues concerning litigation and ADR affecting franchise relationships and developing continuing education programs.

Rebecca Woods, 1998

Rebecca Woods '98 was selected to serve on the Board of Directors for the Washington, D.C., Rape Crisis Center, the nation's oldest sexual assault education/counseling/support center serving women, men, and children in the D.C. metropolitan region. Woods is currently a partner in the D.C. office of Seyfarth Shaw LLP.

Margaret (Meg) Johnson, 2002

Margaret (Meg) Johnson ’02 and her husband, Andrew, welcomed a daughter, Eleanor (Nora) Elizabeth, on Dec. 13, 2009. Nora and her family currently reside in Natick, Mass.

Ursula Barrera-Richards, 2007

Ursula Barrera-Richards ’07 is the new policy director for the Ohio Commission on Hispanic and Latino Affairs. The 33-year old commission advises the legislature, governor, and state agencies on issues and policies pertinent to the Ohio Latino community. Barrera-Richards was also recently married to Jimmy R. Richards in Toledo, Ohio.

Adam Sturdivant, 2005

Adam C. Sturdivant ’05 and his law partner, Stephen R. Drew, of the law firm Drew, Cooper & Anding in Grand Rapids, Mich., won a sexual harassment/hostile work environment jury trial against Consumers Energy, a utility company, in the United States District Court for the Western District of Michigan. Following a two-week trial, the jury returned a verdict in favor of the plaintiff, who Sturdivant’s firm represented, in the amount of $7.9 million in a 7-1 decision.

Jesse Thomas, 2009

Jesse Thomas ’09 has joined the Cleveland office of Tucker Ellis & West LLP as an associate in the firm’s Trial Department. Thomas will focus his practice on business litigation.

Shawna L'Italien, 1996

Shawna L. L’Italien ’96 was named a 40 under 40 Shining Star for community service and professional accomplishments in November 2009 by the Mahoning Valley Professional 20/30 Club and Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley. Of those 40 recipients, L’Italien also was named one of five MVPs. In May 2010, L’Italien received the Athena Award, sponsored by the Youngstown Warren Regional Chamber and the Youngstown Vindicator, which is awarded to a woman for professional accomplishments, community service, and mentorship. L’Italien is a member/attorney at Harrington, Hoppe & Mitchell, Ltd in Salem, Ohio.

Justin Moses, 2007

Justin Moses ’07 has accepted a position as associate dean of students and director of student conduct at the University of Tennessee Chattanooga in Chattanooga, Tenn. Moses will oversee all aspects of student conduct and the university’s honor court.