Moritz College of Law The Ohio State University
This Month @ Moritz

College Launches Election Law Website

e-Book on Election LawVoter eligibility, campaign practices, redistricting, and gerrymandering – those are just a few of the topics covered by Election Law @ Moritz, a comprehensive election law project at Ohio State's Moritz College of Law. Directed by Professor Edward B. (Ned) Foley, the project has the dual purpose of educating the public on legal issues surrounding elections and assisting the media in covering election law issues with accuracy.

Key features of the program are a website, located at, a conference on voting technology, and a series of panel discussions throughout the fall, which are open to the public.

The website is an extensive resource on the laws governing federal, state, and local elections and is a complete and easy-to-access resource for Ohio election law. The site will be updated frequently, as current issues in election law emerge. Also, it will feature a weekly editorial on a timely topic by a Moritz Law faculty member.

A day-long conference on voting technology is planned for September 23 at the Moritz College of Law. Also scheduled during September and October are three panel discussions on topics such as campaign finance, false campaign ads, and "From Bush v. Gore to Bush v. Kerry."

The faculty participating in the Election Law @ Moritz (and their topics) include: Douglas Berman, felon disenfranchisement; James J. Brudney, regulation of lobbyists; Mary Beth Beazley, ballot design; Ruth Colker, disability access to voting; Terri L. Enns, state and local elections; Katherine Hunt Federle, children and democracy; Edward B. (Ned) Foley, campaign finance, ballot access, democratic theory; David A. Goldberger, regulation of campaign speech; Steven Huefner, term limits, campaign finance, state and local elections; Dale Oesterle, referenda and initiatives; john a. powell, voting rights; Peter Shane, cyberdemocracy, redistricting, and Electoral College; Donald Tobin, campaign finance; and Dan Tokaji, voting technology, recount questions, and democratic theory.