Moritz College of Law The Ohio State University
This Month @ Moritz

Moot Courtroom Renovation Committee Declares Victory

The moot courtroom renovation is an integral part of a larger goal to create one of the nation's finest learning environments. The new Digital Evidence Presentation System (DEPS) will give students hands-on experience with the most sophisticated technology they are likely to encounter upon entering practice.

Moot Courtroom
The Moot Courtroom of the future...

"This project will have a tremendous impact on the 70 percent of our student body who use this space for moot court activities, competitions, trial practice, and clinical courses," says Greg Travalio, associate dean for professional relations.

New DEPS technology will act as a control station for the entire courtroom and allow evidence to be projected on high-resolution flat panels throughout the courtroom. Students will be able to record and play videotapes, make PowerPoint presentations, project films, and display three-dimensional renderings of accident scenes and evidence. A new voice reinforcement system will enhance sound throughout the courtroom. David A. Goldberger, director of clinical programs, and Isadore and Ida Topper Professor of Law says, "This courtroom renovation project will give our students a cutting-edge, 21st century learning environment. It will enable us to prepare them for practice in any courtroom in the country."

The only glitch in the project thus far is a fortunate one. As the current paneling was being removed in preparation for next summer's construction, workers discovered it had a thick walnut veneer. Now instead of being replaced, the paneling will be removed and restored to its original finish before reinstallation.

Dean Nancy Rogers is grateful to the members of the Moot Courtroom Renovation Committee who worked so quickly and effectively to facilitate this project. Members are Stephen E. Chappelear '77, Michael F. Colley '61, the Hon. Robert M. Duncan '52, Mary Ellen Fairfield '72, Charles J. Faruki '73, and Charles J. Tyburski '64.