Moritz College of Law The Ohio State University
This Month @ Moritz

Ohio Chief Justice Thomas J. Moyer '64 Wins National Dispute Resolution Award

Justice Moyer is the first to receive the James F. Henry Award. Henry, who founded the CPR Institute for Dispute Resolution in 1979, presented the award to Justice Moyer for dispute resolution "leadership, innovation, and commitment."

Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel, site of the CPR Award

Frank Sander, Bussey Professor of Law, Harvard Law School and Dean Nancy H. Rogers, the Moritz College's Michael E. Moritz Chair in Alternative Dispute Resolution, nominated Justice Moyer.

In nominating Chief Justice Moyer, Dean Rogers said, "All of us involved in dispute resolution have heard discussions about what produces change. One answer to that question clearly is that a highly respected chief justice can improve dispute resolution processing throughout an entire court system, and influence other court systems to do the same. In honoring Chief Justice Moyer with this award, you will inspire other chief justices to leave a similar wonderful legacy, and will express appreciation for a person who has improved the quality of life for all of us."

In acceptance remarks that drew a standing ovation by the several hundred attorneys attending the awards dinner, Chief Justice Moyer said, "Dispute resolution deserves our full support as it preserves civility and rationality in a world that needs more of both. Thanks to the efforts of many and adequate funding support, Ohioans everyday resolve their conflicts through dispute resolution. I will continue to work for support so that we can move forward."

In 1998, Justice Moyer received the Innovative Program Award from the Association of Family and Conciliation Courts, and was honored by the Phyllis Wheatley Association for "Open the Doors to Diversity and Success." In 1999, he received the Better World Award from the Ohio Mediation Association, and the Whitney North Seymour Medal from the American Arbitration Association in 2000. He co-chairs a national committee to develop model legislation for mediation in state courts.