Alan C. Michaels

Dean and Edwin M. Cooperman Chair in Law

Alan C. Michaels was approved by The Ohio State University Board of Trustees as dean of The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law in November 2008. Dean Michaels graduated from Harvard College magna cum laude in 1983 and from Columbia University School of Law in 1986. Following graduation from law school, Dean Michaels clerked […]

Continue Reading →

Associate Deans

Cinnamon Carlarne

Cinnamon Carlarne

Associate Dean for Faculty; Professor of Law

Professor Cinnamon Pi├▒on Carlarne is a leading expert in environmental law and climate change law and policy. Prior to joining the Moritz faculty, she was an assistant professor at the University of South Carolina School of Law. From 2006-08, Professor Carlarne was the Harold Woods Research Fellow in Environmental Law at Wadham College, Oxford, where […]

Continue Reading →
Kathy Seward Northern

Kathy Seward Northern

Associate Dean for Admissions; Robert M. Duncan/Jones Day Designated Associate Professor of Law

Professor Kathy Seward┬áNorthern served as a law clerk to the Honorable Robert M. Duncan, Southern District of Ohio, following graduation from law school, and then became an associate with the law firm of Porter, Wright, Morris, & Arthur in Columbus. In 1990, she joined the law faculty of Ohio Northern University, moving to Ohio State […]

Continue Reading →

Paul Rose

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Frank E. and Virginia H. Bazler Designated Professor in Business Law; Director, Law, Finance & Governance @ Ohio State

Professor Paul Rose teaches Business Associations, Comparative Corporate Law, Corporate Finance, Investment Management Law, and Securities Regulation. He has written extensively on sovereign wealth funds, corporate governance, and securities regulation, and he has consulted with and provided testimony on these topics to numerous regulators and other agencies, including the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing […]

Continue Reading →

Assistant Deans


Laura Fernandez

Assistant Dean for International and Graduate Affairs

Prior to joining The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, Laura Fernandez worked in the area of public international law and held various positions at the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) both in Austria and Croatia. While at the OSCE she dealt with Rule of Law and transitional justice issues, EU […]

Continue Reading →

Sara Sampson

Assistant Dean for Information Services; Interim Assistant Dean for Communications; Director of Law Library; Senior Lecturer

Professor Sara Sampson is the assistant dean for information services, the law library director, and a senior lecturer. She manages all aspects of information technology and the library for the College of Law. Before returning to Ohio State, she was the deputy director of the law library and served as a clinical assistant professor of […]

Continue Reading →

Monte Smith

Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs

Dean Smith graduated from the Moritz College of Law in 1990. He worked as an associate at Jones Day before becoming a career law clerk for the Honorable Sandra S. Beckwith of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio. In 2006, Dean Smith returned to the Moritz College of Law full […]

Continue Reading →

Michael States

Assistant Dean for Admissions and Financial Aid

Dean States has been the Assistant Dean for Admissions, Financial Aid, and Diversity Initiatives at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law since August 2015. Prior to coming to Moritz, he was the Assistant Dean for Admissions at the University of North Carolina School of Law from August 2004 to August 2015. He currently […]

Continue Reading →